2007 Award Winner | 2007 Finalists | 2006 Award Winner | 2006 Finalists | 2005 Award Winner | 2005 Finalists | 2004 Award Winner | 2004 Finalists
2003 Award Winner
| 2003 Finalists | 2002 Award Winner | 2002 Finalists | 2001 Award Winner | 2001 Finalists
2000 Award Winner | 2000 Finalists | 1999 Award Winner | 1999 Finalists | Award Guidelines | Who Was Dave Moore?



Elysian Fields Quarterly is pleased to announce the finalists for the ninth annual Dave Moore Award, which will honor the author of the "most important book on baseball" published in 2007. The winner shall be revealed to the media on or about June 15, 2008, and profiled in the Summer 2008 issue of EFQ.


Jonathan Eig. Opening Day: The Story of Jackie Robinson's First Season (Simon & Schuster).

Bill Felber. A Game of Brawl: The Orioles, The Beaneaters, and the Battle for the 1897 Pennant (University of Nebraska Press).

Lee Lowenfish. Branch Rickey: Baseball's Ferocious Gentleman (University of Nebraska Press).

Norman Macht. Connie Mack and the Early Years of Baseball (University of Nebraska Press).

Cait Murphy. Crazy '08: How a Cost of Cranks, Rogues, Boneheads, and Magnates Created the Greatest Year in Baseball History (HarperCollins).

Congratulations to the authors and publishers!

© 2008 Elysian Fields Quarterly


In the Batter's BoxBring Us HomeOn the NewsstandSample an Issue
Submit a storyTell a FriendAdvertise with usOur First at batPrivacy Statement

© 1999 - 2006 Elysian Fields Quarterly Web Master Dahlke Designs