2007 Award Winner | 2007 Finalists | 2006 Award Winner | 2006 Finalists | 2005 Award Winner | 2005 Finalists | 2004 Award Winner | 2004 Finalists
2003 Award Winner
| 2003 Finalists | 2002 Award Winner | 2002 Finalists | 2001 Award Winner | 2001 Finalists
2000 Award Winner | 2000 Finalists | 1999 Award Winner | 1999 Finalists | Award Guidelines | Who Was Dave Moore?



Elysian Fields Quarterly is pleased to announce the finalists for the seventh annual Dave Moore Award, which will honor the author of the "most important book on baseball" published in 2005. The winner shall be revealed on or about April 3, 2006, and profiled in the Spring, 2006 issue of EFQ.


David Block. Baseball Before We Knew It (Univ. of Nebraska Press).

Jonathan Eig. Luckiest Man: The Life and Death of Lou Gehrig (Simon & Schuster).

William Price Fox. Satchel Paigeís America (Univ. of Alabama Press).

Steven Goldman. Forging Genius: The Making of Casey Stengel (Potomac Books).

Jonathan Mahler. Ladies and Gentlemen, the Bronx Is Burning (Farrar, Strauss, and Giroux).

Bob McGee. The Greatest Ballpark Ever: Ebbets Field and the Story of the Brooklyn Dodgers (Rutgers University Press).

Congratulations to the authors and publishers!

© 2006 Elysian Fields Quarterly


In the Batter's BoxBring Us HomeOn the NewsstandSample an Issue
Submit a storyTell a FriendAdvertise with usOur First at batPrivacy Statement

© 1999 - 2006 Elysian Fields Quarterly Web Master Dahlke Designs